I came across the Please Rob Me site a few days ago. I don’t use Foursquare, so I felt that Please Rob Me wasn’t relevant to me. However, a friend sent me this article and I’ve given the general concept some more thought.

In case I’m speaking in Pig Latin, I am referring to status updates. When you send an update, you are letting the World Wide Web know what you are doing. In the case of Foursquare and Please Rob Me, you are letting the WWW know that you are not home.

I love status updates and will continue to send I’m not home type updates. However, I do this knowing that I do not live alone and I have a doorman, three locked doors and at least five security cameras between outside and my apartment. If you live in a less-secure situation, you might reconsider broadcasting your empty home to the world.

From the Your Facebook profile: An open invite to crime? article, “Posting ‘My big-screen TV is awesome, wish someone was gonna be home enjoying it, but everyone’s gone for three days’ isn’t the brightest move in the world,” says this one police officer I know from Facebook.”

