There is a time and a place for abbreviations. Sometimes, abbrev’s are funny, other times they’re convenient. However, usually they are annoying, unnecessary and insincere. Abbreviating a post or a text when you are nowhere near the word limit is pure laziness.

Some of my biggest pet peeves are the most commonly used abbreviations…

  • Thx: You really seem thankful. (Note the facetious tone in my voice.)
  • Sry: I do not forgive you. I would rather you throw dirt in my face.
  • Pls: The answer is no. Do not bother asking again.
  • Xmas: No comment.
  • Luv: Thanks for demonstrating your undying passion. I probably love you less after receiving this.

When a message is getting to its limit, the first change you should make is to eliminate unnecessary words, then switch and’s to &’s. If it is still multiple characters over, and the information is important, send two messages.

